Navigation Menu

The latest news & tickets for tennis tournaments worldwide

Novak Djokovic Defeats Andy Murray in 2013 Australian Open

Novak Djokovic Defeats Andy Murray in 2013 Australian Open

Novak Djokovic defeated Andy Murray at the Australian Open to be the first man ever to win three Australian Open titles in succession with a 6-7, 7-6, 6-3, 6-2 score giving him the Australian Open title.

“What a joy. It’s an incredible feeling to win this trophy again,” Djokovic said. “This is definitely my favorite grand slam. I love this tournament. I love this court. I have to congratulate Andy and thank him. We have played so many great matches in the last two years. Bad luck for tonight but I wish you best of luck for the season.”

Djokovic has won a total of six grand slam trophies, four of them being Australian Open titles (2008, 2011, 2012, 2013). He became the youngest player in the Open Era to have made it to the semifinals of all four Grand Slam tournaments both separately and consecutively. By winning three Majors in 2011, Djokovic became the sixth male player in the open era to win three Majors in a calendar year. He was ranked the year-end World #1 in 2011 and 2012.

Other 2013 Australian Open results…

Women’s Singles: Victoria Azarenka defeats Li Na
Men’s doubles: Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan defeats Robin Haase / Igor Sijsling
Women’s Doubles: Sara Errani / Roberta Vinci defeats Ashleigh Barty / Casey Dellacqua