Navigation Menu

The latest news & tickets for tennis tournaments worldwide

French Open

French Open

The French Open (French: Les Internationaux de France de Roland Garros or Tournoi de Roland-Garros) is a major tennis tournament in Paris, France, at the Stade Roland Garros. The French Open is the 2nd of the four Grand Slam events (French Open, Australian Open, US Open and Wimbledon) and is the leading clay court tennis tournament in the planet. The French Open is among the most famous events in tennis. Due to the slow playing surface and the five-set men’s singles with no tiebreak in the remaining set, the event is known as to be the most challenging tennis match in the world.

The French Open event began as a national event in 1891 since the Championat de France International de Tennis. In 1912, the French Open contest was held with a different floor (at the time all tennis performed was lawn tennis), a clay (“terre battue”), composed from the smashed wastes of red brick. Clay courts decelerate the ball and make a high reversal when comparing to grass courts or hard courts. For this reason, the clay court removes some benefit of huge acts, that makes it hard for offer based participants to rule on the surface.

Grounds Passes or “Annexe tickets”, are popular as there are several fits to take pleasure from through the entire competition externally courts or “courts annexes.” These French Open Grounds Passes will give you access to most of the exterior courts but do not provide access to the stadiums Phillipe Chatrier, Suzanne Lenglen, or Court 1. As they come on a come first get your chairs early served basis so it’s important to know where the matches you are interested in will be taking place. The initial week includes many singles matches. Whilst the match continues there’ll be largely principal pull doubles, mixed doubles, junior and senior matches played on the outside courts. Along with the action on the courts you will be able to enjoy all the excitement that Roland Garros is offering including the Practice Courts which are perfect for autographs, Souvenir Areas, Food places, and of course the excitement in the “Place des Mousquetaires” where hundreds of lovers congregate between Court 1 and Center Court Philippe Chatrier to look at the action taking place on the principal display courts on the Huge Screen.

A Ticket on Court Phillipe Chatrier or Suzanne Lenglen gives you a reserved seat for the whole day on that particular court with access to all the outside surfaces, but you do not have access to any of the other Show Courts including Court no 1 as each Show Court needs a individual admission. For instance, if you have a ticket for the Phillipe Chatrier Court you can not access the Suzanne Lenglen or Court 1 and vice versa. Both Show courts (Phillipe Chatrier and Suzanne Lenglen) offer  equal amount of fits through Wednesday of the Second week with top seeds people. From Thursday of the second week through the end of the tournament all presented singles matches are played only on the Phillipe Chatrier Center Court and thus all Show Court tickets from Thursday of the second week till the end of the tournament will only be on Court Philippe Chatrier.

It’s impossible to know which judge a particular participant will be placed in advance as this is established only the evening before. The overall seating potential on the Philippe-Chatrier Court is 14,840.

Past Champions

Year Singles Doubles
2017 Rafael Nadal Ryan Harrison / Michael Venus
2016 Novak Djokovic Feliciano López / Marc López
2015 Stanislas Wawrinka Ivan Dodig / Marcelo Melo
2014 Rafael Nadal Julien Benneteau / Édouard Roger-Vasselin
2013 Rafael Nadal Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2012 Rafael Nadal Max Mirnyi / Daniel Nestor
2011 Rafael Nadal Max Mirnyi / Daniel Nestor
2010 Rafael Nadal Daniel Nestor / Nenad Zimonjić
2009 Roger Federer Lukas Dlouhy / Leander Paes
2008 Rafael Nadal Pablo Cuevas / Luis Horna
2007 Rafael Nadal Mark Knowles / Daniel Nestor
2006 Rafael Nadal Jonas Bjorkman / Max Mirnyi
2005 Rafael Nadal Jonas Bjorkman / Max Mirnyi
2004 Gaston Gaudio Xavier Malisse / Olivier Rochus
2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2002 Albert Costa Paul Haarhuis / Yevgeny Kafelnikov
2001 Gustavo Kuerten Mahesh Bhupathi / Leander Paes
2000 Gustavo Kuerten Todd Woodbridge / Mark Woodforde
1999 Andre Agassi Mahesh Bhupathi / Leander Paes
1998 Carlos Moya Jacco Eltingh / Paul Haarhuis
1997 Gustavo Kuerten Yevgeny Kafelnikov / Daniel Vacek
1996 Yevgeny Kafelnikov Yevgeny Kafelnikov / Daniel Vacek
1995 Thomas Muster Todd Woodbridge / Mark Woodforde
1994 Sergi Bruguera Byron Black / Jonathan Stark
1993 Sergi Bruguera Luke Jensen / Murphy Jensen
1992 Jim Courier Jakob Hlasek / Marc Rosset
1991 Jim Courier John Fitzgerald / Anders Jarryd
1990 Andres Gomez Sergio Casal / Emilio Sanchez
1989 Michael Chang Jim Grabb / Patrick McEnroe
1988 Mats Wilander Andres Gomez / Emilio Sanchez