Navigation Menu

The latest news & tickets for tennis tournaments worldwide

Australian Open

Australian Open

The Australian Open is one of four Grand Slam tennis competitions every year held. The other three Grand Slam tennis tournaments will be the French Open, the US Open, and Wimbledon. The Australian Open tournament was at risk of fading into irrelevance before being revived in 1988 with a move to Melbourne Park, which is where it’s been kept since. Like the other three Grand Slam events, it consists of many of the top-ranked tennis players.

Like the other Grand Slam events, the Australian Open has men’s and women’s singles competitions, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and mixed junior, as well as doubles and master’s competitions. The event is held at Rod Laver Arena. The Australian Open is famous for its hot nights, so an extreme-heat policy is usually put in play when temperatures and humidity reach harmful levels.

Past Australian Open Champions

Year Singles Doubles
2017 Roger Federer Henri Kontinen / John Peers
2016 Novak Djokovic Jamie Murray / Bruno Soares
2015 Novak Djokovic Simone Bolelli / Fabio Fognini
2014 Stanislas Wawrinka Łukasz Kubot / Robert Lindstedt
2013 Novak Djokovic Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2012 Novak Djokovic Leander Paes / Radek Štěpánek
2011 Novak Djokovic Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2010 Roger Federer Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2009 Rafael Nadal Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2008 Novak Djokovic Jonathan Erlich / Andy Ram
2007 Roger Federer Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2006 Roger Federer Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
2005 Marat Safin Wayne Black / Kevin Ullett
2004 Roger Federer Michael Llodra / Fabrice Santoro
2003 Andre Agassi Michael Llodra / Fabrice Santoro
2002 Thomas Johansson Mark Knowles / Daniel Nestor
2001 Andre Agassi Jonas Bjorkman / Todd Woodbridge
2000 Andre Agassi Ellis Ferreira / Rick Leach
1999 Yevgeny Kafelnikov Jonas Bjorkman / Patrick Rafter
1998 Petr Korda Jonas Bjorkman / Jacco Eltingh
1997 Pete Sampras Todd Woodbridge / Mark Woodforde
1996 Boris Becker Stefan Edberg / Petr Korda
1995 Andre Agassi Jared Palmer / Richey Reneberg
1994 Pete Sampras Jacco Eltingh / Paul Haarhuis
1993 Jim Courier Danie Visser / Laurie Warder
1992 Jim Courier Todd Woodbridge / Mark Woodforde
1991 Boris Becker Scott Davis / David Visser
1990 Ivan Lendl Pieter Aldrich / Danie Visser
1989 Ivan Lendl Rick Leach / Jim Pugh
1988 Mats Wilander Rick Leach / Jim Pugh